Nastassia Davis' Blog

A beautiful interpretation on “Two Sides To Every Story” by René Couret

with 2 comments

I was thinking about how leaves are a part of nature and the fact that they are falling mean that they are shedding and the plant is growing. I was thinking that this image has two sides. A woman who is natural and accepts herself, but is shedding her idea of her own thought of what beauty is. That one side is a dark skinned woman who sometimes wishes she was light skinned. And the light skinned woman who wishes she was dark skinned. Since yellow represents wisdom/joy/happiness and the fingernails stay the same color on both sides, it means to me the reconsiliation of wanting to be soemething other than what is. Accepting of oneself. The eyeliner squiggles remind me of the eye of ra or (horus); The eye is personified in the goddess Wadjet which means Green; known to the Greeks and Romans as “uraeus” from the Egyptian “iaret” meaning “risen one”. This persona depicted in this image means that she has risen above her ego and sees equality in both because they are one in the same. Furthermore, green is life. Abundant in nature, green signifies growth, renewal, health, and environment. On the flip side, green is jealousy or envy (green-eyed monster). Since the leaves are falling and the eyes are now equal, it shows that in general this woman has grown and has accepted her roots that she is all and all is within her. ♥”

Absolutely love it. The best piece of writing to “Two Sides To Every Story” that I’ve seen from anyone else. She has immensely inspired me. I love learning from my supporters about my photography. Check her out here.

Written by Nastassia Davis

April 25, 2012 at 10:42 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you so much for appreciating my interpretation enough to share it on your blog! I just absolutely love art and how it is seen differently by all who are blessed enough to ‘experience’ it. I learned so much from my Women & Art: Contested Territory class last fall. I was given the assignment to find a new artist and interpret their work. I was so lucky to find you. I’m a huge fan as you know and I will continue to support you. I’m extremely grateful. Many many blessings. ~ Rene

    René Couret

    April 25, 2012 at 4:16 pm

  2. another nice commemoration on your work sister Nastassia

    ch4wordpress

    April 26, 2012 at 11:05 am


Leave a Reply

