Nastassia Davis' Blog

What the internet means to me and why I signed SOPA/PIPA Petition

with one comment

The internet is a special haven for me. It’s a place I go to 1) share my photography and 2) discover a plethora of things that interest me personally and professionally. Thanks to the internet (especially sites like flickr and facebook), I’ve been able to connect with people that help and inspire me for the better in many ways. Free exposure of my photography (and whatever else I’m working on), finding jobs and keeping up to date with what’s going on in the world are some of the main things I love about the net. When I heard about SOPA/PIPA bill this morning, I immediately felt it necessary to be apart of the strike. There’s no way the government should be able to interrupt businesses upon businesses thriving off the net and also the beauty and simplicity of surfing it to our heart’s content.

One of the things that bothered while living in Switzerland last year was the fact that many sites were not accessible due to their government censorship. So I know how annoying this could become! I remembering thinking how wrong and ridiculous it was and feeling proud of the US for not depriving it’s citizens of something as awesome as free information at the computer keyboards of our fingertips.

I’ve already begun to “blackout” photos on my flickr stream. Friends I’ve had the pleasure of meeting over the years from different parts of the world communicate with me here and facebook.

Want to know more about the potentially harmful impact of these bills? For more information see http://blog.flickr.net/.

SOPA/ PIPA VIDEO Explained (Thanks @jovizi for sharing!)

Sign Petition to stop SOPA/ PIPA BILL here.

Written by Nastassia Davis

January 18, 2012 at 2:36 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] response to this post I wrote, Peter Kim sent me this really cool graphic that breaks down the topic even further. Check […]


Leave a Reply

