Nastassia Davis' Blog

MomMom

leave a comment »

I don’t like to get too personal on this blog, but I wanted to post something about someone I dearly love who passed away today, 3 years ago. The following piece of writing is what I wrote a week after my grandma passed away.

“They are away discussing your going home services as I sit here, at 516 Adriatic in the still quiet. I’m trying to envision coming here not being able to hug you, kiss you and tell you that I love you. Listening closely in the back of my mind, I can still hear you calling “Nay Nay” from the other room. As a little girl, I’d anxiously run into the kitchen, plop down in the chair and quietly watch you mix the batter of your famous pound cake. You’d give me a little taste from your finger and I’d smile saying “Mom Mom you make the best birthday cake ever!” Then you’d say “You know why, Nay Nay? It’s ’cause I’m your grandma. And don’t you ever forget it!” I’d laugh as the cake mixer drummed on.

MomMom, my beloved grandmother, who was a “straight shooter” and never bit her tongue for no one, I love and miss you so much. I remember you always saying to never worry about what others thought of me. As long as I was true to myself, that’s all that mattered to God.

As much as I’m missing you now, I find deeper comfort in knowing that you are finally at peace with God and our Panamanian family, whom you deeply loved – smiling at us all.”

I honor your memory today, and always. Never to be forgotten.

Until I see you again.

Love Eternally,
NayNay

Written by Nastassia Davis

June 19, 2010 at 1:19 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

